Our good Father

Chris Tomlin sings a song called, You’re a good, good Father. These are the lyrics simplified.

I’ve heard a thousand stories of what they think you’re like

But I’ve heard the tender whispers of love in the dead of night

And you tell me that you’re pleased

And that I’m never alone

You’re a good good father

It’s who you are, it’s who you are, it’s who you are

And I’m loved by you

It’s who I am,

I’ve seen many searching for answers far and wide

But I know we’re all searching

For answers only you provide

‘Cause you know just what we need

Before we say a word

You’re a good good father

It’s who you are

And I’m loved by you

It’s who I am,

Because you are perfect in all of your ways

You are perfect in all of your ways to us

Oh, it’s love so undeniable

I can hardly speak

Peace so unexplainable

I can hardly think

As you call me deeper still

Into love, love, love

You’re a good good father

You are perfect in all of your ways

It’s who you are,

And I’m loved by you

You are perfect in all of your ways

It’s who I am, it’s who I am, it’s who I am

 

I really love this song and I looked up some versed which tell of the goodness of God our Father.

 

Psalm 103:13: “As a father has compassion on his children, so the Lord has compassion on those who fear him.”

 

2 Samuel 7:14-15: “I will be a father to him, and he’ll be a son to me. When he does wrong, I’ll discipline him in the usual ways, the pitfalls and obstacles of this mortal life. But I’ll never remove my gracious love from him.”

 

Psalm 32:7-8: “You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.”

 

Proverbs 4:11-12: “I will guide you in the way of wisdom and I will lead you in upright paths. When you walk, your steps will not be hampered, and when you run, you will not stumble.”

 

1 Corinthians 8:6

yet for us there is but one God, the Father, from whom are all things and we exist for Him; and one Lord, Jesus Christ, by whom are all things, and we exist through Him

 

Isaiah 64:8

But now, O LORD, You are our Father, We are the clay, and You our potter; And all of us are the work of Your hand

 

Jeremiah 3:19

“Then I said, ‘How I would set you among My sons And give you a pleasant land, The most beautiful inheritance of the nations!’ And I said, ‘You shall call Me, My Father, And not turn away from following Me.

 

Psalm 68:5

A father of the fatherless and a judge for the widows, Is God in His holy habitation

 

Matthew 6:26

“Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they?

 

Luke 12:29-31

“And do not seek what you will eat and what you will drink, and do not keep worrying. “For all these things the nations of the world eagerly seek; but your Father knows that you need these things. “But seek His kingdom, and these things will be added to you.

 

I’d like to encourage you in your walk with this good Father.
Ephesians 3:14-19

For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth is named, that according to the riches of his glory he may grant you to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith—that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.

 

 

Leave a comment